Reading – Toward a Process for Critical Response

http://www.communityarts.net/readingroom/archivefiles/2003/10/toward_a_proces.php

“Several years ago, I finally acknowledged to myself how uncomfortable I was around most aspects of criticism. I had been involved in the process of creating art, seeing art and teaching art-making for a very long time, but I had not found peace with my many questions, and with the array of feelings brought up by both giving and receiving criticism. I found so-called “feed-back sessions” to be often brutal and frequently not very helpful. I couldn’t seem to solve my needs during post-performance rituals of backstage chatter: I had trouble getting it, and I had trouble giving it. I became uncomfortable at other people’s concerts where much of my experience of the evening included a subtext of internal complaining about what I was seeing…”

By Liz Lerman

Leave a Reply

